IRIS info - débats / Communiqués

Say NO to attempts to kill ALTERNB and to stifle non-commercial sites that allow independent, free expression on the Internet!

IRIS Press Release - February 15, 1999

List of signatories

Following the judgement passed by the Paris Appeal Court [1] comdemning the French Internet Service Provider (ISP) AlternB, IRIS recalls its position in relation to rights and responsibilities with regards to Internet content [2].

Making an ISP liable for Internet content created by a third party (whether the ISP has been aware or not of this content), puts this technical intermediary in the position of a judge and a censor. However, it should be noted that the role of the ISPs is limited to automatic transport and hosting of information written and published by third parties, who should remain the only responsible for the information they provide. Such an assimilation of responsibilities would hurt the Rule of Law.

While current laws are naturally, and without restriction, applicable to the content provider, the legislator should explicitly recognise that the ISPs are incapable of estimating the illegal or harmful character of an information, especially when it is published by a third party. However, the justice should have means to identify the authors of publicly available Internet content.

To be able to do that, there is absolutely no necessity to require each content provider to put his personal details on his web site (except in the case of sites offering commercial transactions). Preserving this form of anonymity with regards to the public access is in many cases legitimate and necessary for protecting the content provider and also for ensuring personal data protection. IRIS recalls its position with regards to anonymity of publicly available content: the ISPs have the technical means to identify the author of a content hosted by them, and can provide these means to the law authorities if needed. This applies to AlternB.

The signatories urge all the commentators not to be mislead : this case, and this debate, is not the only one involving total anonymity. The signatories call to a large mobilization in support to the French ISP AlternB, and more generally for the defence of the founding principles of our society, with respect to the protection of human rights and the public liberties.

Suggested actions :

[1] Text of the judgement : http://altern.org/defense/jugement.html
[2] Iris text : "Internet contents : rights and responsibilities" : http://www.iris.sgdg.org/axes/contenus/index.html

Text of this press release on the web : http://www.iris.sgdg.org/info-debat/comm-alternb0299-en.html (French version : http://www.iris .sgdg.org/info-debat/comm-alternb0299.html)

Contact Iris : Meryem Marzouki (Meryem.Marzouki@iris.sgdg.org) - Tél : +33(0)144749239

(dernière mise à jour le ) - webmestre@iris.sgdg.org

IRIS info - débats / Communiqués

Non à la mort annoncée de l'Internet non marchand et de l'expression indépendante

Communiqué de presse d'IRIS - 15 février 1999

Liste des signataires

Après l'arrêt de la cour d'appel de Paris [1] condamnant le fournisseur d'accès à Internet AlternB, l'association Iris rappelle sa position quant aux droits et responsabilités en matière de contenus sur Internet [2].

Faire assumer à un fournisseur d'accès et de services la responsabilité d'un contenu lorsque sa teneur a été ou non portée à sa connaissance met cet intermédiaire technique en position de juge et de censeur, alors que son rôle se limite, au transport et à la mise à disposition automatique d'informations élaborées ou transmises par leur auteur, qui doit rester seul responsable de ces informations. Cette assimilation des responsabilités porterait atteinte à l'Etat de droit.

Si les lois actuelles s'appliquent naturellement sans exclusive aux auteurs de contenus, le législateur doit en revanche explicitement reconnaître au fournisseur d'accès et de services son incapacité à juger du caractère délictueux ou nocif d'une information lorsqu'elle est fournie par une tierce partie. En contrepartie, la justice doit avoir les moyens d'identifier les auteurs de contenus diffusés publiquement.

Il n'est pour cela nullement obligatoire d'exiger que tout site web fournisse les coordonnées de l'auteur de ce site (sauf dans le cas des sites proposant des transactions commerciales), sachant que la préservation de cet anonymat vis-à-vis du public est dans de nombreux cas légitime et nécessaire, pour la protection de l'auteur du site comme pour la protection des données personnelles. Iris rappelle sa position au sujet de l'anonymat des contenus diffusés publiquement : les fournisseurs d'accès ont les moyens techniques de retrouver la trace de l'auteur d'un contenu, et peuvent les fournir sur requête de l'autorité judiciaire. C'est le cas d'AlternB.

Les signataires engagent tous les commentateurs à ne pas se tromper de débat, qui n'est pas en l'occurrence celui de l'anonymat total, et appellent à une large mobilisation internationale pour le soutien à AlternB, et plus généralement pour le respect des principes fondateurs de nos sociétés, concernant la protection des droits de l'homme et des libertés publiques, par :

[1] Texte du jugement de la cour d'Appel de Paris : http://altern.org/defense/jugement.html
[2] Texte d'Iris intitulé « Contenus sur Internet : droits et responsabilités » : http://www.iris.sgdg.org/axes/contenus/index.html

Texte de ce communiqué sur le web : http://www.iris.sgdg.org/info-debat/comm-alternb0299.html)

Contact Iris : Meryem Marzouki (Meryem.Marzouki@iris.sgdg.org) - Tél : 0144749239

(dernière mise à jour le ) - webmestre@iris.sgdg.org